I am an aspiring Med student, what books would anybody recommend?

I am picking up Clinical Microbiology and such, but I'd also be interested in all sorts of books that doctors have written, and text books and such. What would anybody recommend?

6 Answers

Relevance
  • Marli
    Lv 7
    3 years ago
    Favorite Answer

I would go to the bookstores of several universities with medical schools / departments / colleges and see what is on the shelves. They are likely the textbooks that medical students will buy. Request course lists from the colleges and see what texts are required reading. Most public libraries do not carry books that specialized, so you may need to roam the libraries of the university where you will be earning your Bachelor of Science degree. It would not hurt to see what the public library has in your home area or in the area your university is located. The main branches of libraries in "university towns" sometimes have items that the branches in small towns don't carry. It may have an online subscription to JAMA or other magazines read by doctors.

• Anonymous
    3 years ago

Books written by Dr. Atul Gawande;

"How Doctors Think;"

"The Hot Zone;"

"The Yoga of Nutrition;"

"The Path of the Higher Self;"

"The Intern Blues;"

"Dr Mary's Monkey;"

"This Won't Hurt a Bit;"

"On Call: A Doctor's Days and Nights in Residency;"

"Intern: A Doctor's Initiation;"

"Becoming Dr. Q;"

"Gut;"

"Gone in a Heartbeat;"

"The White Coat Investor;"

"Concierge Medicine" by Dr. Steven D. Knope;

"The Doctor's Guide to Concierge Medicine."

• 3 years ago

I'd recommend that an aspiring Med student should really know how to use Google. And libraries.

• 3 years ago

Internal Surgery for Dummies they make books for everything today

• How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
  • 3 years ago

I would recommend reading books that give you the strong foundation needed to understand more advanced medical textbooks.