MJ asked in SportsMartial Arts · 3 years ago

What s a visually pleasing style of swordmanship?

So, I was watching Arrow and I saw Oliver go up against Ra s Al, armed with swords, and it looked pretty cool. Long story short: I m trying to write a superhero that only fights with swords (because there s really not too many out there). The last thing I want is for the audience to watch him swing wildly without any sense of style. Boxing and Kung Fu look very different and I d imagine there s a similar effect with different styles of swordplay. I know it s a really out-there kind of question, but if someone could recommend a really cool looking style to research and watch I d really appreciate it because I have NO knowledge on this subject! Thank you. Also, can kantas, or whatever the thin blades are called, ever be not lethal? If so, would the victims require immediate medical attention? I don t really want my hero killing everyone he fights, but if he has to do be it.

2 Answers

Relevance
  • DKG
    Lv 6
    3 years ago
    Favorite Answer