promotion image of download ymail app
Promoted

if stopped by police and you get told to get out of your vehicle, can you refuse?

21 Answers

Relevance
  • DanRSN
    Lv 6
    3 years ago

yeah if you like. if you like being tasered, pepper sprayed and dragged out though your smashed open window.

• Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
  • 3 years ago

No , I have a death wish anyway ...

• Anonymous
    3 years ago

ya, but he'll have probable cause then to search your car, and drag you out of it

• 3 years ago

No..

Source(s):

...I am a retired police officer. I retired as a sergeant, after 29 years, from a very large department, about 12,000 officers. I was a patrol officer for 4 years in a very diverse area. I was a tactical officer in the high rise project areas of my city. We called it vertical patrol in that we walked the the stairways of the high rises most of the time. I did that for 5 years and was promoted by test to detective. I worked violent crime (homicide, sex, officer involved shootings, robbery, kidnapping, serious non property incidents) for 11 years until I was promoted to sergeant. I worked as a street supervisor, a bicycle patrol supervisor and a desk sergeant/watch commander. During my time as a tactical officer and a detective I was a unit representative for the police union.

I have a B.A in English and an M.S. in Law Enforcement Administration....

• How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
  • Anonymous
    3 years ago

Sure, if you love being yanked out or if your colored, shot :)

• james
    Lv 7
    3 years ago

The first thing a cop is to do is tell you why he stopped you. If it does not do that first then NO. Illegal stop. You are under no charge. After he tells you the why yes you must.

• 3 years ago