? asked in Beauty & StyleMakeup · 4 years ago

Makeup starter kit?

I'm new to makeup, so can you list each makeup product and what they're used for? Like does concealer go before or after foundation? Leaving products for oily skin and pores would also be helpful too! I don't really care wether it's drugstore or high end, I just want to be able to have good quality makeup that won't make my skin oily (Don't mentioned CoverGirl, I'm allergic to their makeup).

6 Answers

Relevance
  • 4 years ago
    Favorite Answer

Cleansing, toning and moisturizing the skin first is preferable, as that's what I personally find gives best results

Lip balm is also ideal in order to prevent chapping and help lipstick last longer.

Primer - prepares skin before applying any facial, eye, cheek or lip makeup. Some are specifically made for the eyelids before applying eye makeup. Think of it like you're applying primer to a wall before painting it, so the paint has a longer lasting finish. Essentially so that your face makeup looks flawless, and lasts longer without wearing off.

- Foundation. Provides color and coverage for the entire face and minor imperfections e.g. mild acne or a bit of bruising, some is blended down onto the chin and neck to avoid an unsightly line.

- Concealer. As the name suggests, this is to 'conceal' or hide imperfections which weren't covered by foundation, like under eye circles, bruising, uneven skin tone, blackheads and acne zits.

- Powder, Used to make other makeup products - namely foundation and concealer - set and prevent facial shine.

- Eye shadow. Provides color to the eyelids. Different colors suit different people depending on their iris color. For example. whichever color the iris is also suits the person in eye shadow. People with blue eyes can wear pink, silver and peach while people with brown eyes tend to suit warmer colors like golds. People with green eyes tend to suit tan shades.