Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Politics & GovernmentLaw Enforcement & Police · 3 years ago

I m not sure what to do about my college major?

Hello, I am currently a college student finishing up my first year. Pursuing an associates degree in criminal justice, my career preference in life is a Ohio State Trooper/Highway patrol. I have read on the OHSP website they say a college degree is not needed; but it definitely helps (I would assume) I knew this however the website begins to explain how officers often go to school for management for advancement with their division. So my question is should I switch my college major to management or finish out my criminal justice? Thanks for your opinions. [OHSP](http://statepatrol.ohio.gov/recruit/questions.html...

3 Answers

Relevance
  • 3 years ago
    Favorite Answer

It's certainly ideal to speak with the career counselor and/or "program director" of the criminal justice department at your schooI. If you were a friend or family member, I would suggest continuing with the associate's in criminal justice while perhaps taking some business or management courses, if you're still wanting to work in law enforcement. Getting the specialized training in law enforcement, criminal justice, or police studies, for instance, may help one's job application (and resume) to be more competitive and marketable against job applicants with less schooling.

Some jobs in law enforcement may require or prefer those with a bachelor's (four-year) degree (also known as a "college degree") or even a master's degree. A position of detective, for instance, may require a college degree or grad degree, and the individual has usually worked as a patrol officer for a few years before getting additional schooling and/or training.

• 3 years ago

Most people who want to become law enforcement major in CJ. There's no need to change your major. right now. If you're in CJ and liking it and doing well, you're fine.