Help! My employer now reimburses my expenses in my paycheck under net pay. Do I pay income taxes on that?

I am a preschool teacher and when I buy supplies for the school, my employer used to write me a check. Now it is added to my monthly paycheck. It says "Reimbursements added to net pay" on my paycheck. Will I be paying yearly income taxes on that?

12 Answers

Relevance
  • 3 years ago
    Favorite Answer

It would appear that your employer operates an accountable expense reimbursement plan. Under such a plan, reimbursements are not taxable income to you. They have merely simplified the process by adding it to the bottom of your paycheck instead of cutting a separate check.

• Login to reply the answers
  • 3 years ago

Take a good look at all the details on your pay stub, in particular, the year-to-date earnings. Let's say your pay is $1000 / month, and last month, the year-to-date was $2000. If you had a reimbursed expense of $77.19 this month, it should not add to the year-to-date earnings, and this month, the total should be $3000, not $3077.19 . If it's the former, the world is working as it should, you are not getting taxed on your reimbursement, and the wages, salaries, and tips on your W-2 at the end of the year will not include the reimbursements. If you see your year-to-date gross being increased by reimbursements, however, better check with HR or payroll as to what's going on.

• 3 years ago

We can't answer that question. It should not be, but you need to clairify with HR.

• tro
    Lv 7
    3 years ago

of course not, the amount is not included in your gross

• How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
  • 3 years ago

You will not be paying income tax on the reimbursements. You cannot take a deduction for these items that were reimbursed.

There will be no entry for these reimbursements on your tax return.

• Eva
    Lv 7
    3 years ago