Yahoo Answers is shutting down on May 4th, 2021 (Eastern Time) and the Yahoo Answers website is now in read-only mode. There will be no changes to other Yahoo properties or services, or your Yahoo account. You can find more information about the Yahoo Answers shutdown and how to download your data on this help page.

Atheists, do you try to support secular charity only, or will you give to for example the Salvation Army?

13 Answers

Relevance
  • 4 years ago
    Favorite Answer

I give $200 to the Salvation Army every year. One Christmas when I was a very poor college student, I had my packages, purse with all my money and identification, stolen outside of Macy's in NYC. It had been a hard time for me, my parents had just died, I had no blood family, and I was crushed. The Salvation Army attndent at the Cauldron had seen what happened, reached into the pot and handed me a fistful of money, then took me to a coffee shop until I calmed down. I protested and tried to refuse the money over and over, but the man insisted and I was grateful. When I got home and counted it, it added up to $198.

Atheist

Added: Here's my Christmas, etc., present to everyone - If you shop Amazon, you can select a charity (there are 100s) and Amazon (Amazon Smile) will donate a small percent of your purchases to the charity of your choice, at absolutely no cost to you. It is a painless way to support a cause all year long. If you're interested in hopping on board, go to Amazon through https://smile.amazon.com/, select your charity, and just shop as you normally would.

• sarah
    Lv 7
    4 years ago

Salvation ARmy actually helps people the others don't.

Most of the money goes to the CEO's at the top.

Humane society for animals uses every penny to help the animals and get them fixed cheaper for poor familys can have a dog or cat. So the only ones I give to.

• Nous
    Lv 7
    4 years ago