Anonymous
Anonymous asked in HealthDiseases & ConditionsCancer · 3 years ago

What is happening to me? (people with cancer knowledge)?

I'm a 19 year old male with ALL (Leukaemia). I'm in my second year of treatment and so far everything's going well. Up until recently from the beginning of my treatment my sex drive has been super low and I haven't been able to have a full on erection. I'm fairly sure I am probably infertile now as a result of my chemo, before I started chemo my consultant sent me to a sperm bank so that if my treatment did make me infertile I would have some semen stored which means I could have a child that is truly my own when I'm older. Anyone who's had to produce in a sperm bank knows how difficult it is just based on the surroundings etc so I couldn't at the time.

But now after just over a year of not being able to have an erection and almost non existent sex drive it's all back. I can now have a full erection and my sex drive is stronger than ever. You would think this is a good thing but it's actually killing me. This is the first time since I lost my virginity (15) that I haven't had a partner. Why is this happening to me?

Update:

@LAN and april, no one told me. I said "I'm fairly sure" not 'I'm certain'. My struggle to get erections and low sex drive wasn't the only contributing factors which bought me to that conclusion. I didn't really want to go into too much detail out of embarrassment but the fact I've been producing much less semen on ejaculation and of that semen it's much more transparent than it was before treatment. I don't know much about fertility but I assume that's a bad sign...

Update 2:

If you don't believe me the medication I am on is Mercaptopurine, Methotrexate, Dexamethasone, Ranitidine, Aciclovir, Co-Trimoxazole and I am on the UKALL 2011 Trial... Seems like I have quite a lot of knowledge about this disease for someone with a 'made up' story, huh?

Update 3: