promotion image of download ymail app
Promoted

CAR LOAN OR DEALERSHIP FINANCING?

I have a 512 TransUnion credit score and a 517 credit score with Equifax. I have an unpaid sprint bill of $700 due to closing an account early, but other than that its just unpaid hospital bills from not having insurance during my visit to the emergency room. I have about $1000 for a down payment, but i was wondering if someone could help me decide on should i try my luck with a bank/credit union or try dealership financing. My job history pretty much sucks, started my young life out in the streets and was in and out of jail. Im trying to right the storm, i have a full time job but my pay rate is only $8.75 an hour. Ive been working at the same place for about 4 months now. Thats pretty much it towards my qualifications for a car but any info is much appreciated. Just need some outside insight on what i should do. Also if any estimate APR percentages for my situation would be much appreciated also. I have been looking for cars in the $8000-$10000 range, i also have $1000 down. Thank you for your answers and time!

9 Answers

Relevance
  • Dash
    Lv 7
    4 years ago
    Favorite Answer

You have a low wage job and poor credit. You are trying to get your life together. Don't get a car loan. Don't go in debt. You can get by with out a car.

Once you have a car you will have to buy expensive insurance. Pay for repair bills, etc. You will owe more money than the car is worth and so you won't be able to sell it or trade it in for some time. Just keep working and concentrate on improving your education or job skills so you can get a better paying job.

• ...Show all comments
    • But my public transportation system sucks where i am located. I couldnt finance a $8000 car with money down? I make about a thousand a month. I have tried getting insurance quotes, the most expensive i was quoted was 163. I feel its managable and my need for a car is basically dire.