Anonymous
Anonymous asked in SportsOther - Sports · 4 years ago

What is the best rifle caliber for precision shooting to 1 mile and further?

Looking for a caliber that is relatively cheap to purchase and/or has comparatively inexpensive and readily available materials for hand loading. So, immediately, 338 LM and 50 BMG are out! Suggestions? Also, when judging how efficient ANY round will be at a distance, is muzzle velocity,ballistic coefficient, or other more important? What is the formula?Thank you, guys...

Update:

Should ALSO add relatively good barrel life to the equation

Update 2:

OK, getting tired of the intentionally abusive and unhelpful responses. I AM new to long-range shooting. I have only gained recent interest in the field after having taken deer-sized game at 300 yards for years now. I ask ALL questions anonymously, so please don't assume I am trolling. If I knew the answers to these questions, I wouldn't be asking them. One can be thoroughly competent in one facet of shooting, and a complete novice in another. For anyone TRULY attempting to help, thank you much.

10 Answers

Relevance
  • 4 years ago
    Favorite Answer

When you consider cost, just about all bullets and brass 30 cal and below cost the same. Barrel life, slower is better, but you need fast to get to a mile and beyond. I think you'll just have to deal with shorter barrel life. But consider, even 'short' barrel life is around 2,000 rounds, and you will spend much more in 2000 rounds of ammo than you will on a new barrel. Also, to get to those ranges, you need a heavy, slippery bullet. Those are expensive. JLK, Berger VLDs, and Lapua Scenars are what you'll be shooting, and the bullets alone cost more than a hand-loaded 308 Win with Hornady AMAXs.

What I'm trying to say is that distance costs money. You can do some things to cut cost, but in the end, you're gonna need an expensive scope, an expensive rifle, and expensive ammo.