Chances of Getting into West Point Military Academy?

Hello. I am a sophomore in High School in Ohio, and I really want to attend West Point Military Academy, and I wanted to know how my qualifications are looking.

My GPA is a 3.9

I have not yet taken ACT/SAT but I did take the practice ACT and got a projected 33-34

I participate in two sports: Baseball and football, and have lettered in both. Will most likely be captain of the baseball team in the years to come.

I am in advanced math for my age, and will be taking honors pre calculus next year as a junior.

I have taken 4 years of Spanish and am almost fluent in the language.

Last year, my freshman year, I was class elected leader for our service project to build a medical clinic in the third world country of Sudan. I won the a National Service Award from Nationwide called the "Nationwide Insurance Hometown Hero" Award, and was able to throw out the first pitch at a Columbus Clippers game. Currently, we have built a clinic in Peol, Sudan and have purchased electricity and storage systems for the facility.

I am big, strong kid and could surpass the fitness test (with a little practice, of course)

Also, I am in the process of getting a recommendation because my best friend's dad is the Secretary of State.

So I am wondering, do I have a good chance of getting in?

4 Answers

Relevance
  • 5 years ago
    Favorite Answer

Hello Jack,

Absolutely. Your credentials seem competitive. Remember this: only about 1,500 cadets will be chosen to enter each year's Academy class. About 15,000 will apply.

So, you really need to "excell." Secretary of State of what? The US? Mrs. Clinton? She can not nominate to the Academy. You need Congressional nominations from your US Congressman and your 2 US Senators. Or the Vice President of the United States.