Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Politics & GovernmentMilitary · 5 years ago

Pro's and Con's to the Army??

This is my first year of high school and I just recently picked my classes for my sophomore year. When I picked my classes my guidance counselor told me to stick with 'my field'/ what I am interested in. He asked me what I wanted to do when I am out of high school and if I was planning on going to college. I said to him that I do in fact what to go to college and that I am interested in becoming a surgeon. But what I didn't tell him was that I am also considering joining the army. I still don't know which path I want to pursue, and I do understand that I should decide and spend sometime doing research before it's to late.

So therefore what I am asking is for people to tell me some pro's and con's of the army. I would look for information throughout the internet but I would rather listen to current/ past veterans because as we all know there aren't many sites on the internet that can be trusted (at least thats what I was taught).

Thanks in advanced.

Update:

or just mentioning your experiences with the army would be great.

3 Answers

Relevance
  • 5 years ago
    Favorite Answer

OP,

You need to ask A LOT of questions of your recruiters and others. You need to get all points of view.

You should always have good questions, whether you interview for a job, are buying a car, or are considering enlisting. It does two things. It actually answers your questions and it shows you have interest. You're on the right track asking questions on Yahoo.

Ask what it means when people say, "We're fighting for our freedoms." Ask how our constitution in threatened by so many countries around the world.

Ask for evidence for the line, "They hate us for our freedoms." How do people know this? Was a poll done?