One More Baseball Rule's question.?
Bases loaded, 2 outs, 0-2 count.
The pitcher throws his signature forkball low & away. The batter is completely fooled and swings helplessly as the ball bounces past home plate, past the catcher and all the way to the backstop.
Knowing that its a dropped 3rd strike, the batter takes off for 1st base. The runners all take a moment to realize what happened, but the all eventually head for the next base on the wild pitch.
The catcher retrieves the ball and throws to the pitcher who is covering the plate. The tag on R3 is late and the plate umpire calls the runner safe.
The pitcher then sees that R2 stumbled on his way to 3rd base, so he fires the ball to the 3rd baseman who applies the tag just before R3 slides into the base. The 3rd base umpire calls R3 out to end the inning.
Does the run count? Why or why not?