Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Business & FinanceTaxesUnited States · 5 years ago

Tax emergency!!!! 19 year old. Help me understand?

I just recently turned 19 and I have a Tax emergency🤔 (December baby) and i had this job at McDonald's which I started in October 2015... But I quit in recent Feburary 2016. I went to my tax accountant to file these taxes and I have a kid so I know I'll get more income... But the thing that confused me the most was that I got rejected... Why? Because someone claimed me.... So this being my first time filing taxes. Does that mean since my someone claimed me... They have all the money I earned? From busting my *** at McDonald's..? I'm sorry but I'm heated and confused and want to understand is there any way to receive the money back.. At all??? I'm really scared if I don't get anything... I have bills to pay and have things to buy for myself... My Accountant said something about IRS... help me understand what an irs is... Lol I'm new to this whole thing.. So please don't judge me in this case..

Questions-

The person that claimed me, do they have all my money?

- could I possibly get the money back?

- don't you think it's selfish for someone to claim me? (Your opinion)

- does the person that claimed me get in trouble because I didn't give them approval for them to claim me?

How long does this whole process take?

8 Answers

Relevance
  • 5 years ago
    Favorite Answer

I'll try to answer in the order the questions appear in your post:

I got rejected... Why?

Your return was rejected because the IRS noticed a duplicate claim against your Social Security Number. The most likely reason is that your parents probably already claimed an exemption for you because they believe you qualify as their dependent. So if you tried to claim your own exemption the IRS sees it as a duplicate claim.

Does that mean someone claimed me? - Yes probably.

They have all the money I earned?