Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Politics & GovernmentLaw & Ethics · 5 years ago

Question about T4A and Canada Revenue Agency?

I'm in university and I got a bursary of a few hundred dollars.

I also got a T4A tax form from my university, stating this amount. Because it falls under 'other income'.

So..what do I do with this, this is my first time getting a T4A. Do I just keep it forever, or do I have to submit it to Canada Revenue Agency?

I'm really not sure so PLEASE give me a definite answer to these questions -

1. Does it have to be mailed to them or something, or do I just keep it for myself?

2. Does the CRA already HAVE a copy of this, and the one I received is just a copy for me?

3. If I DO have to submit it, is there a deadline for this?

4. Just wondering, what exactly will the CRA do with this information? It's my bursary and it's to pay for school..

5. Just wanted to mention, I have a strange dad..if he hears I got a bursary, he'll want to take the money for his own use. that's why I haven't told him about it. but he's the one who does the taxes and stuff so if this form is mandatory to submit, i'll have to tell him about it?

Thanks.

1 Answer

Relevance
  • bw022
    Lv 7
    5 years ago
    Favorite Answer

Start by realizing that you don't owe taxes unless you earn more than $11,800 in taxable income in a year. If you earned income and had taxes deducted, you'll generally always want to file income taxes so that you get that money back. If you had self-employment income, and 18+ you'll need to file if you earned more than $6,500 (as that it the point you must pay into Canada Pension Plan).

If you never worked and didn't have taxes deducted, you generally don't have to file -- baring self-employment income, income over $11,800, or CRA specifically asking you to file. If you made large RRSP, charity, self-employment or other deductions (even if under the $11,800) you might wish to file so that you can carry future tax years.