how do i wire a 110/220v welder up to 220. it has a standard 110 plug but i know it isnt 220v coming out of the wall?

4 Answers

Relevance
  • 5 years ago
    Favorite Answer

Along with actually having a 240v circuit then it depends on the welder, some welders you have to connect the cord differently in the welder. Others like the Miller 211 automatically adapt to whatever the supplied voltage is. The 211 comes with adapters, but the cord may have been replaced.

So to get a good answer it would help if you furnished the brand and model number.

Source(s): I'm an electrician with 9 years experience working for a mechanical contractor, I often have to connect welders to existing circuits.
  • 5 years ago

You'll have to set up the 220 power source before worrying about wiring up the welder. You will need a 2-pole breaker of the proper size and the right configuration of female outlet, cable size and back box at the location you want to connect to, You can't run 220 off of a standard 110 v outlet. HAs to be connected to both busses in the panel.

• XTX
    Lv 7
    5 years ago