Do i even need an Anti virus program?

I use Microsoft Security Essentials as my Real time protection. I have malwarebytes and SuperAntiSpyware as on demand scanners

and i use Windows firewall after uninstalling Comodo Firewall.

i also use noScript and uBlock Origin for my browsers FireFox and Comodo IceDragon.

Do i even need a real time protection AV taking up computer resources? I follow good internet codes i don't download stuff from third party websites like SourceForge i always try and find the official/first party website. or download them from a third party site which i trust.

i only use sites like sourceforge as a last resort. Like whenever i needed to download Code::Blocks because the official mirror was broken, sadly it didn't come with the compiler for some reason so i uninstalled it.

the only things i could possibly think i would need a real time protection for is whenever i am looking for games for my emulators. which i use emuparadise and CoolROMs for, i am a newbie on those sites so i don't know if some games on there could have viruses.

another thing is i use Processor Explorer where you can check to see which processes are running the background.

I also use Malwarebytes Anti-Exploit as something for protection against exploit attempts when browsing.

so my question still remains do i even need a real time protection despite all my other protection which uses less resources from my computer.

Update:

Update/Edit:

or could i just use windows defender and everything would be fine? Does windows defender use less computer resources then MSE?

Update 2:

Update/Edit: another thing too note is i rarely even get email attachments from unofficial or phishers. Or i never add people on steam who have there profiles private or click on links from unknown people on steam who send trade requests.

5 Answers

Relevance
  • Bob
    Lv 7
    5 years ago
    Favorite Answer