How can I be the best preschool teacher possible?

I'm 24 years old and I'm going to school to become a preschool teacher. My school semester is over in two weeks and then I will have the credentials to start teaching. I have experience working with children. I've worked in two different daycares as an assistant with ages 3 months-4 years old. I've also worked at a church preschool in the 2 year old classroom as a preschool assistant.

I'm really excited because I know this is what I want to do, but I'm also very nervous. I have never been the lead teacher in a preschool setting, I've always been an assistant in all my previous jobs. My biggest struggle is that I am shy (not so much around kids), but with whomever I will be working with and the parents. Also, its hard for me to gain control of children because I'm not that good at disciplining and they tend to not listen to me. I think that is because I look young (even younger than I am) and I have a quiet sweet tone of voice.

What should I expect going into this field and what can I do to make sure I do well as a first time preschool teacher?

Thank you! :)

3 Answers

Relevance
  • 5 years ago
    Favorite Answer

Relationship with families is important.

Greet every family, every day. Get in the habit of telling each family member something that their child enjoyed that day when they come to pick up. For example, "Ava had so much fun making playdough cupcakes this morning!" or "Ask Samuel to tell you about the toad he found on the playground!"

This helps parents know that you see the good in their child. With daily, positive communication, if there ever is a challenge - like a suspected developmental delay or a serious behavior problem - it will be much easier to address it.

You are an articulate writer. Consider a blog, newsletter, or email updates as another way to connect with families.