promotion image of download ymail app
Promoted

Where should I invest in stock market before fed increases interest rates?

So, I am new to the whole stock trading deal. Today is my first day so I am starting slow. I have purchased 3 stocks in Apple and 2 in United Health Group. Since I am a beginning, I only have 1,000 dollars in my portfolio, I bit less now that I bought 5 stocks. I am looking for 1 more company in a different industry to trade in.

Which industries or companies should I invest in that will give me a big profit after the fed increases interest? Should I invest in banks like chase or citi? Should I invest in utilities, food, resources?

Please help a rookie! How can you say no to this face? :(

7 Answers

Relevance
  • John
    Lv 5
    5 years ago
    Favorite Answer

Apple are okay, they have a good growth record, and dividend increase, until this year that is.

They currently pay around 1.5%, dividend, and there is the rub, you are looking at 3 years time before they pay anything decent on this year's purchase. However stick with it as it isn't bad just not good?

Are you electing to have the dividend payment in more shares not ca$h, you should because then you benefit from compound interest, on compound interest.

United health Group are similar, they pay 1.7% an seem to have a good growth record so stick with them.

However, Proctor and Gamble pay 3.76%, and have increased their dividend for the last 58 years.

Yes you read that correct, and their growth while not outstanding, is steady and good, and higher than most.

Again look at having the dividend paid in more shares.

Look for a low P/E ratio, high % payout with good growth over the long term.

And as a check the company should have a high ROCE, Return on Capital employed.

Read some books on Warren Buffet, and what and how he invests.

Fed Interest rates can be ignored long term.

• Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
  • 5 years ago