What does fuel pump circuit number 2 failed mean in simple terms?

I have a 1994 f150 mfi 4.9 automatic with rear single after axle gas tank.

I did an eec-iv test & looked up the 3 digit code which was....fuel pump circuit number 2 failed.

All fuses are new & good,all relays are new & good under the hood & under the dash.

New fuel pump,sending unit & float.New fuel filter.

I took the gas tank out & cleaned it thoroughly & filled the tank 1/2 way with shell gasoline.

Also complete tune up.The shut off switch under the passenger quarter panel is in good working order.

Could there B a wire problem or just a defective fuel pump,or something else?

I'm NOT spending one more penny till I find the problem.

If I knew what the problem was I can fix it,because I am a shade tree mechanic with a LOT of common sense.

How can I test the fuel pump using just a ground and the battery?If this would help.

God bless & thank U very much 4 your time & help

2 Answers

Relevance
  • 4 years ago
    Favorite Answer

Yes, test the fuel-pump off the car, with connections just to the battery - also, I think you will find that the bulk of cars with fuel injection (everything in the last 25 years!) actually have a small, low-pressure pump which tends to live in the tank (sometimes called the 'lift-pump') and a seperate, high-pressure, fist-sized pump which is usually firing straight into a similar-sized filter, somewhere under the car to keep it cool and keep noise away from the cabin. Which pump did you change?

• neil4 years agoReport

I traced all the wires coming from the fuel pump & there is only wires & no other pump or device.

• 4 years ago