Lv 7
MEL T asked in Politics & GovernmentImmigration · 5 years ago

What other developed country allows birth citizenship?

2 Answers

  • Gerd P
    Lv 7
    5 years ago
    Favorite Answer

    Birthright citizenship (jus soli) applies in all countries of the Americas except The Bahamas, Cuba, The Dominican Republic, Haiti, and Suriname.

    Birthright citizenship outside of the Americas is only applied in Cambodia, Fiji, Lesotho, Pakistan, and Tuvalu.

    It depends on what you consider to be a developed country, as there are different definitions.

    Very high developed countries that allow birthright citizenship are Argentina, Canada, Chile, and the United States of America.

  • 5 years ago

    30 nations worldwide allow birth citizenship without restrictions. With restrictions, many more. For instance, in Australia you gain citizenship automatically on your 10th birthday. In other countries, you become a citizen only if your parents are there legally.

Still have questions? Get your answers by asking now.