Why does conservative media claim universities are actively indoctrinating students in liberal ideals?

I am a college student and often listen to conservative radio and hear this a lot, but I don't know what they mean. When I go to school I'm learning about math, finance, marketing, biology, how to write good papers and give good speeches. I'm not taught lessons about gays, abortions, redistribution of wealth, or any political agendas. Maybe it's because I'm in red state Idaho?

Update:

Have you witnessed other examples? I'd like to hear what's going on.

8 Answers

Relevance
  • 5 years ago
    Favorite Answer

try this....take up a tradionally conservative view on a number of issue..

say something like "I believe marriage should be between one man and one woman.."

...or "I oppose government-funded abortions".... or make a snarky comment about Bruce Jenner..

then tell me... are these comments met with open-mindedness and tolerance? do they invite open and productive discourse? Or are they shunned and suppressed?

• 5 years ago

Because they hate education. They hate actual information even more. There's a reason why Ted Cruz doesn't want NASA to do actual climate change research.

I went to a small liberal arts college, and never had a professor try to influence me politically. But then, I'm a Canadian.

Republicans hate any kind of new thoughts, and they especially hate anyone that tries to teach others to think for themselves.

The "indoctrination" thing is just a talking point that cons pulled out of their butts to bolster their case that universities are full of communists. The same kind of attitude was taken in the 60s, when all those students were protesting the Vietnam war.