Anonymous
Anonymous asked in PetsDogs · 6 years ago

Best flea medication?

I hear fleas are..becoming immune?(or something) to frontline now. I assume that's why they started selling it OTC.

It works for my dog just fine, he had fleas when I got him(even after the breeder gave him a capstar) and it cleared them right up.

So should I stick with frontline or use a "better" one??

8 Answers

Relevance
  • ?
    Lv 7
    6 years ago
    Favorite Answer

I work as a vet tech, and we have no reports of Frontline not working, when it is used every 30 days, year 'round on all dogs and cats in the family. I have used it for years, and have never seen a flea nor tick on any of our pets. Having said that, some are beginning to look at chewable tablets for fleas and ticks. The advantage is that you don't have to wait after a bath, and some don't like the liquid potentially getting onto hands or furniture, etc. We sell a lot of Nexgard, which is also made by Merial, the maker of Frontline. It's a flavored, chewable tablet given once a month for fleas and ticks. Our vets love Trifexis and Comfortis, which are the fastest kill on the market. The benefit for flea-allergic pets is that these two products kill the fleas after just one bite, so the pet gets fewer bites. (fleas bite every 5 minutes, and Frontline can take up to 12 hours to kill them.) So Frontline is just fine if it is working for you and your dog. Ask your vet for one free with the purchase of 3, or 2 free with 6. There are also rebates if you buy Frontline and Heartgard together ----ask your vet.

• 6 years ago