Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Computers & InternetHardwareDesktops · 6 years ago

Does a motherboard actually affect gaming performance?

I'm building a pc and I'm still a newbie from talking about computers stuff.Do I really need to buy expensive motherboard for gaming? tell me what is motherboard is really does or what motherboard is good for my spec?

My gaming spec:

CPU:Intel Core i5-4690K 3.5GHz Quad-Core Processor

Video Card:EVGA GeForce GTX 980

Memmory:G.Skill Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3-1866

SSD:Samsung 850 Evo

HDD:WD black 2tb

PSU:EVGA 850W 80+ Bronze Certified Semi-Modular ATX Power Supply

4 Answers

Relevance
  • Thomas
    Lv 7
    6 years ago

Mostly not a lot. Don't go dirt-cheap on a motherboard, get something decent, but there's no need to spend crazy money. "Gaming" PC hardware in general is often, though not always, a bit of a rip-off.

The motherboard is more about features. Does it support overclocking, and what's the interface like? Does it support SLI and/or Crossfire? What size is it? That kind of stuff.

There are some performance factors. A good motherboard may allow an overclock that's 0.1-0.2 GHz higher than a mediocre (but still overclock-supporting) motherboard does. And sound quality might be better on a good motherboard but if you care about that you probably want a real sound card anyway.

• 6 years ago