Commercial Pilot Career without teaching?

I'm a Commercial Pilot with about 350 hours and would like to land my first job soon. However most of the jobs are for CFI's and I feel I don't have it in me to teach people. I don't consider myself a teacher and I enjoy doing mostly introvert type of work anyway. I have some money saved for this summer to increase my prospects, and I was thinking about getting IFR current so as to get ready for the Aerial Survey season which starts around October for most states. My career goals would be flying for a small cargo company like FedEx Feeder. I would also like flying for a private rich client or maybe even Single Pilot Ambulence work. Are there opportunities for people like me or should I consider another career?

8 Answers

Relevance
  • 5 years ago
    Best Answer

I never got the CFI/CFII, and while I can't say it wouldn't have opened some doors for me, my career still worked out fine without it.

As soon as I earned my CPL, I did two things: First I got on a fishing boat for the summer, worked my butt off, and made lots of money. Second, when I came back I paid for my multi rating, and I bought over 100 hours of time in both singles and twins. Mind you, the cost to rent back then was nearly half what it is for what some places charge nowadays. But then again, what you might earn working a fishing job or oil field job today will also be more, adjusted for inflation. I had only 50 hours more than you do now when I landed my first job as a skydive pilot. Didn't make much, but I started logging those hours fast, and I had a LOT more fun than watching a student pilot drive me around the pattern for months or years on end. Once I had 600 hours I took my skydive flying to bigger drop zones where they flew turboprops like Twin Otters, King Airs, and Caravans. Do you think a CFI gets to log time in aircraft like that? No way... he's still sputtering around in C-152s and C-172s.