Can't get enough sleep!?

I need help! How do I instantly fall asleep? Is there a way for me to do so? I am a high school student and the pressure of studies is all time high while I've evolved into a damn nocturnal. (it's 1:26 AM while I write this and I FEEL sleepy yet I can't sleep). No, I don't get any nightmares and I am a normal kid whose here looking for solutions to fall asleep quickly and wake up and be fresh. Don't give me that "It's the hormones" thing, please, don't.

8 Answers

Relevance
  • 5 years ago
    Favorite Answer

Try turning off all your electronics an hour before you want to go to sleep. Turn your lights down in your room as well. Have a piece of fruit or a light snack with a small glass of milk or water. Get ready for bed: brush your teeth, take a warm shower, put on your PJ's, make sure you are not to warm or too cool. Maybe wear some socks to bed. Do some light stretches to relax your neck and back. Get into bed and read something for 30 minutes or so then turn off the light and go to sleep.

Also watch your caffeine intake and don't have any after 4 PM. If you still can't sleep after a few nights, only have one caffeinated beverage in the AM. Energy drinks have up to 10 times the caffeine that coffee does and it is slow getting out of your body.

Keep up your ;bedtime routine' for at least a week before you give up on it. It takes time to get your body into a habit. You should also keep to the same routine on weekends until you are able to fall asleep easily every night.

Not much fun for a high schooler but your health is more important.

• Login to reply the answers
  • 5 years ago

I think I read somewhere where this is a sign of intelligence - at least I am going with that because I have it too - I can't turn my brain off. I use meditation on YouTube or ASMR and it turns off that part of my brain just enough that I can fall asleep. I will be honest, it still isn't fast, but once you can sleep again you won't mind drifting off.