? asked in Business & FinanceInvesting · 6 years ago

Max out on 401(k)? College grad help please?

Hey y'all,

I'm in my 2nd year in college, 2 more years to go. I'm double-majoring in business management and marketing, I probably wanna get into consulting maybe. I've been really interested in investing and saving up for retirement and start saving early. I've read that it's best to max out on the 401(k) so you can save the most, but for a college grad who will probably be making low entry level salary around $40,000, is it even possible to max out? I wouldn't be left with much left. Any alternatives?

Thanks

5 Answers

Relevance
  • 6 years ago

The maximum 401k contribution for 2015 is $18,000. So yes, that puts you on a pretty skinny 22k a year before taxes. But try to put as much as you possibly can into the 401k, or an IRA, or non-retirement investments. By way of example (quick & dirty) let s say you pass on saving $1,440 a year ($120 a month) for 10 years right out of college. Assuming an average return of 7% and retirement at age 65, you re account value will be $20,770 LESS in 10 years, and about $193,835 LESS at retirement than if you HAD contributed that $120 a month. And that doesn t even account for any employer match! Time value of money = more, sooner, is better. Ask your average 55 year old if they had wished they were as insightful as you are at age 20 and 99.99% of them would say yes. The other 00.01% are brain dead. Stick with your plan as best you can. If you re concerned about your quality of living, put some of the savings in a non-retirement plan so you can withdraw it, if need be, without penalty.

• 6 years ago

Not many options for you if you cant afford to take a chunk out of each check. If you have a little cash right now maybe you should think about buying some long-term bonds from reliable companies, interest rates are not bad and you won't be too tempted to take it out until they mature.

• 6 years ago