Anonymous
Anonymous asked in SportsCycling · 5 years ago

Bike recommendation. Norco VFR 4, INDIE4 A and Specialized Sirrus.?

I am a student at UC Davis. Right now I am riding a "mountain bike"which I bought on craigslist with 60. This bike has brought me so many troubles. I have tried to fixed by myself several times and had it tuned up for another 60 dollars, but still it does not provide a stable and fast ride. I feel the parts on the bike are loose again and I just want to replace it with a new nice-quality bike to get rid of the constant headache. My budget is around 500 dollars, so please do not recommend a bike with 1000-dollar price tag. My primary use is commuting from my apartment to school which is about 6 miles round-trip. Since I am investing 500 dollars on bike, I want to do a little bit more than just commuting with the bike such as casual tour and light fitness purpose. I did a little bit research but I cannot decide between Norco VFR 4, INDIE4 A and Specialized Sirrus. Therefore, I am here for the suggestion on how to choose among them or other recommendations of bikes within my budget. Thank you for your help!

3 Answers

Relevance
  • David
    Lv 6
    5 years ago
    Best Answer

Indie 4 would be my first choice.

It has both a cassette rear wheel (as opposed to the freewheel rear of the VFR) and disc brakes. (as opposed to both VFR 4 and Sirrus).

Add fenders, rack lights and reflectors and you'll have a perfectly decent all-weather commuter.

Not that disc brakes are absolutely mandatory, but they sure can be real nice.

The only thing I'd like to change w/o a test ride would be the cassette.

But that can wait until you need to replace it due to wear. Doesn't sound like you'd need a 32 big for your type of riding. And tight ratios can be nice when humming along on a fairly flat route.

2nd option would be the Sirrus. It has a better rear wheel than the VFR4, although no disc brakes.

• 5 years agoReport