I'm only 18, but I have really bad baby fever. What do I do?

I'm 18, but i'll be 19 in less than 3 months. I live with my boyfriend of almost 3 years. We have a big, 3 bedroom house, 2 cars, and he has a really good stable job. I graduated high school on time last year. I guess i'm trying to give you as much info about myself as possible, hah. My boyfriend is 24 (almost 25). I've had baby fever off and on since I was 17, even through my whole life i've known that i've wanted to have children someday.

I know that in the next year or so he will propose, and then after we're married we can start trying for kids. (I'll be at least 20-21 by the time it's born). I'm just wondering.. is it odd that I feel this way? I live in the south, and a LOT of ladies in my age range are pregnant or have already had children. I know i'm not mentally ready and we want to be married first, i'm just.. grippling with the uncertainty of it all. It's infuriating. I'm very young and I feel so old at the same time. I don't party like a lot of people my age. I like grocery shopping, filofaxing, organizing, and blogging. Why do I feel this way? Why do I feel a longing to be pregnant or to have children or babies? Why am I obsessed with bottle brands, baby clothing, or parenting methods? Why am I always so excited to see babies or children and to spend time with them?

With that being said, I want children so badly, but I don't feel like i'm mentally prepared. But then again, who ever is? What should I do? Have you ever felt this way?

3 Answers

Relevance
  • 6 years ago