How to practise for therapist/counselling job in the future?

Okay so right now im in senior school in year 10, im doing 6th form and im going to take physcology and socialogy. I want to be a therapist, counsellor or something similar when im older because i think when someones going through a tough time, they need someone to be there for them. And i also want to help people overcome anxieties etc.

My friends talk to me about their problems and i give them advice, i also have been helping my friend overcome her social anxiety disorder. Im just wondering if theres anything else i can do thats good practise for these jobs?

I know, bit of a weird question but any help is appreciated.

2 Answers

Relevance
  • 5 years ago
    Favorite Answer

This is what I do for a living.

A counsellor, or therapist depending what country your in.

I am trying to gain a degree in psychology as it means I can help more and understand more things, plus pay is better and it's more the unusual problems you can tackle.

Plus it's easier for the clients coz they don't need a doctor for scripts.

I started in just counselling courses.

I did all the diplomas, all the training, and it wasn't enough.

I still had so much to learn.

Wasn't until I was 30 that I was mentally and emotionally prepared.

You need a lot of diff experiences to really do the job.

Community services was good help and I worked in day care, aged care and also did volunteer work for lifeline.

Also If you do social studies and get some training in as a social worker will help.

All the certificates and diplomas make no diff.

It's the hands on exp that matters.

There are some really horrible things out there and you need to be quite unbiased, not emotional, be professional at all times, and not express your own views.

There is no easy fix, and just coz you want to help doesn't mean you can.