Yahoo Answers is shutting down on May 4th, 2021 (Eastern Time) and beginning April 20th, 2021 (Eastern Time) the Yahoo Answers website will be in read-only mode. There will be no changes to other Yahoo properties or services, or your Yahoo account. You can find more information about the Yahoo Answers shutdown and how to download your data on this help page.

I dont understand some of the "lessons" posted at this guitar learning website.. .please give me your opinion on this video I found there;?

Am I supposed to be able to learn how to play this song from looking at this video?

I've been playing for 20 years and I cannot see many of the chords he is fingering, maybe if there would have been a camera mounted on the headstock looking down the fretboard like others I have seen there, but this one does me very little good if trying to learn to play the song. Would this video help you learn the song?

http://www.vanderbilly.com/Guitar-Lesson-stone-tem...

Attachment image

5 Answers

Relevance
  • 7 years ago
    Favorite Answer

The actual video don't appear at all like a lesson to me, it appears as the title says - a cover of the song (that is, playing along too the track).

I agree that it is near impossible to see the chords played since there is no explanations or close-ups of the fingerboard and the guitar moves all over the place. But again, this does not seem to be a tutorial on how to play the song...

The video pointing from the headstock at the fingerboard is definitely not a good idea for learning. It is more of a novelty thing (looks cool). The best shots are close ups directly at the fingerboard and guitar kept still - possibly a split screen showing both hands simultaneously. Also, written or verbal explanations accompanying this is hugely helpful (this includes tabs or notation).