Is this enough to get a full ride to any of the listed colleges?

-Penn State

-Penn

-NYU

-Pitt

-Virginia

-West Chester

I'm a freshman (I'm thinking far ahead I know) and I'm trying to create a stable path for myself to get a full ride. I go to a relatively failing school. Only 50% or so graduate. I also don't come from a very economically stable family. So I'm going to list all of my classes, extra curriculars, and test scores.

Classes I'm taking this year-

I use block scheduling so the classes are split in semester.

Honors English 1.

Algebra 2 college prep. (I'm the only freshman)

Honors World History 1

Honors Natural Science

Honors Psychology.

Computer Programming. (Only freshman)

Journalism 1.

Fitness/Wellness.

Latin 1.

Extra Curriculars-

Scott's Hi-Q official team. (If you're from a certain place that has Hi-Q, you know you have to be extremely gifted to make the team and it is a very prestigious program. I'm also the only freshman)

J-V Boys Soccer.

School Newspaper.

Student Council member.

Test Scores and GPA-

Weighted GPA- 3.95

Unweighted GPA- 3.75

Keystones and State Standardized tests- All advances in the uppermost region. Usually the best in class.

Other info-

My school counseler explained that if I stay on this track I'll be Valedictorian.

I volunteer coach a neighborhood boys soccer team.

I am apart of Young Life.

What I'm really asking is that given where I am standing now, and the school I go to, which colleges do you think I can get a full ride/really good scholarship.

Thank you.

3 Answers

Relevance
  • 6 years ago
    Favorite Answer

While you are doing well, full scholarships are easier to obtain from lower end universities. This is because we want to publicize such a student. I was told this by a friend of mine who is the director of a private Catholic university's tutoring center.

If you are aiming for higher end University, your GPA is too low.