Looking to get into ar-15s. Any suggestions?

So I just got my ccw. And I've pretty familiar with pistols. But i want to start trying out rifles and far range sport shooting. Looking to spend close to $1000. What do you guys thinks my best options? Im a beginner in ar's but I pick up quick.

8 Answers

Relevance
  • 5 years ago
    Best Answer

I'd suggest the CORE 15 M4. I have one and its my first AR, couldn't be happier. It has a chrome lined 5.56 barrel, picatinny flat top, and unlike the S&W M&P sport it has a forward assist and dust cover. It was $830 plus $50 for the MBUS rear sight.

Since your new to ARs you should look for one with a 5.56 barrel so you can shoot both .223 Rem and 5.56 NATO rounds. Most AR's now are carbine length having a 16 inch barrel, unless you plan to shoot long distance a 16 in barrel will be perfectly fine. Most people want a chrome lined barrel with a 1:7 twist, chrome lined barrels are more durable than stainless but slightly less accurate, I can tell you you'll notice no difference.

There are a few other options out there Spike tactical, Bushmaster, S&W M&PS are all good sub $1,000 AR's.

Here is a like to a similar question I got BA for which goes into further detail as to what you should look for when getting a new AR. there is also a link at the end of that to another question I answered that may give you further information:

https://answers.yahoo.com/question/index;_ylt=AgiL...

• august
    Lv 7
    5 years ago

In my humble opinion, it's hard to beat the S&W M&P15 Sport for a beginner's AR. Price-wise, it's one of the best deals out there.

Or, if you want a slightly more versatile AR, look into some of the higher-end S&W M&P15 line. They're all good rifles. And yes, there are some other good brands out there; I just happen to like the S&W offerings.

• 5 years ago