Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Society & CultureReligion & Spirituality · 6 years ago

Bible students: Can this be right--this statement?

Update:

"For there are three persons who compose the only true God: The Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit. And these three persons are the One God."

15 Answers

Relevance
  • Favorite Answer

TRINITY?? How ridiculous. It can be found in many pagan religions, but NOT in the Bible. At least not a Bible translation. Maybe in a Bible version. A version is NOT a translation!

I can see that those who answered did a little research, but not enough. When I was a graduate student at Texas Christian University, I was allowed to use the Brite Divinity School library and I researched John 1:1. I found the following;

“[It] is clear that in the translation “the Word was God,” the term God is being used to denote his nature or essence, and not his person. But in normal English usage “God” is a proper noun, referring to the person of the Father or corporately to the three persons of the Godhead. Moreover, “the Word was God” suggests that “the Word” and “God” are convertible terms, that the proposition is reciprocating. But the Word is neither the Father nor the Trinity… The rendering cannot stand without explanation.”[4] Translations by James Moffatt, Hugh J. Schonfield and Edgar Goodspeed render part of the verse as "...and the Word was divine."