Problem in dengue disease. need immediate answers ?

Dengue can be classified into three types, 1) Dengue fever 2) Dengue hemorrhagic fever 3) Dengue shock syndrome. The problem is, are these three types of diseases tack place progressively one after other or are these three distinct type of diseases?

1 Answer

  • 5 years ago
    Favorite Answer

    Dengue is a mosquito-borne infection found in tropical and sub-tropical regions around the world. In recent years, transmission has increased predominantly in urban and semi-urban areas and has become a major international public health concern. Severe dengue (also known as Dengue Haemorrhagic Fever) was first recognized in the 1950s during dengue epidemics in the Philippines and Thailand. Today, severe dengue affects most Asian and Latin American countries and has become a leading cause of hospitalization and death among children in these regions. There are four distinct, but closely related, serotypes of the virus that cause dengue (DEN-1, DEN-2, DEN-3 and DEN-4). Recovery from infection by one provides lifelong immunity against that particular serotype. However, cross-immunity to the other serotypes after recovery is only partial and temporary. Subsequent infections by other serotypes increase the risk of developing severe dengue.

Still have questions? Get your answers by asking now.