promotion image of download ymail app
Promoted
Anonymous

I don't know what to major in (college)?

Community college to be more precise. I'm a returning student and I am CLUELESS as to what to major in. My college offers many useless degrees such as sociology and others like it. I want to help people because that's my nature, I want to make GOOD money (be able to live comfortably by my self), and I don't want a desk job. What should I do? Also I should say that my college's counselors don't know jackshit about anything. They aren't logical.

4 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    6 years ago
    Favorite Answer

https://bigfuture.collegeboard.org/majors-careers - Research through and take as much time as you need. Come down to at least 3 majors (that's what I did) and ask relatives questions like; Do you see me majoring in this? Do you think I'll be successful in this major? Do you think the jobs fit in me? So forth.

There are many majors that you can "help people" with, but you aren't specific enough. Do you want to give advice and give an individual more self-esteem in life? If so, consider Social Work, Psychology, etc., mostly consisting the Social Sciences, or Do you want to create tools for people to use that will be beneficial towards their life? If so, consider Engineering. There are just a lot of majors to consider of helping people. No desk job? If you like to travel outside the forest...maybe you can consider Environmental Engineering, but I do not know since you gave little information about yourself. (as in talents, what you want to do, etc.)

Good luck!

• Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
  • 6 years ago