promotion image of download ymail app
Promoted

When will I get my stafford loan money?

I am not a new student, but am attending summer college. Now I was told that I get the pay supposedly half through the semester if I am a new student. But as I am entering semester 2 and not as a new student and with only 2 months, does anyone know how the loan reimbursement works for summer?

3 Answers

Relevance
  • PETA
    Lv 7
    6 years ago
    Favorite Answer

Hi. Some posters have no life so they go answering any questions with dumb answers just to have something to do with their boring life. Just ignore those posts.

Anyway, anyone who knows anything about college knows that what Stafford loan is.

My daughter goes to a university and has 3 classes to go next semester and she will graduate with two degrees as she double majored. She also attends college courses every summer so I know the process.

She fills out her FAFSA Jan 1 every year which will cover the spring, fall, and summer of that year. However in order to get the summer aid a short form needs to be filled out at her financial aid a few weeks before the summer classes start. She has 2 semesters in the summer. You will get separate financial aid for summer. It could be grants or loans depending on what you qualify for and what you have left over. My daughter gets her summer grants and loans she takes out right before she starts the summer course and it covers both summer semesters.

For the spring and fall semesters. She gets those a couple weeks before the semesters start. On her college site she logs into it says when her disbursement dates are when she will get that money deposited into her account. Its usually a week after that when she gets her refund from that.

I would suggest you call your financial aid office and ask them directly when you can expect your refund and how you will get it.

• Joshua6 years agoReport