Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Cars & TransportationBoats & Boating · 7 years ago

Should I get a canoe or Jon boat, (I live just outside of DC)?

I am looking into getting either a canoe or a Jon boat but I'm still not sure as to what i should get. I live right outside of DC so I have access to plenty of water but I'm not sure what the best option would be. I fish a lot but I have always fished from shore because of my lack of a boat. So i am looking for something that I can take out on lakes and do some fishing and possibly do some crabbing. Would i be ok taking a canoe out in the Potomac or would a jon boat be a better choice. I'm a college guy so I want to keep my costs low, Preferably 1,200 or less. Thanks

4 Answers

Relevance
  • 7 years ago
    Favorite Answer

I've extensive experience on the Potomac River, in the DC area. I don't like conventional Jon boats on these waters. "Launch" points are very limited for trailerable boats. Canoes are good and I'd suspect you would get more use out of a 15' one, that you could launch by yourself from shore but you'd have to pick your days.

There's been a shift over the years to more Bass Boats But those are way over your budget. I had a 14' Shakespeare with a 15 HP Evinrude, That could run you $4K for the rig. I got a lot of use out of it but I kept it in the water at Fort Washington Marina. (MD) It had the advantage of range to get as far down river as Aquia Bay / Creek and even up to the Anacostia . But fishing was poor then because of pollution. I understand fishing is much better now.

From "Great Falls", down to the Airport there are not any launch ramps. There's one on the Anacostia at Rt. 450 in Bladensburg. and one on the VA side at the Wilson Bridge. and at Fort Washington on the MD side. So, access is limited.

• fuzzy
    Lv 7
    7 years ago