How do I start writing a song?

I am thirteen years old and a girl and I think writing songs would be a cool pastime. I'm not looking to get signed a record deal, I just want to be able to sing my heart out. How do I start? I want to write about how dating and kissing in middle school is weird, you should save it for when you're older. Something like, "wait till he gets his braces off and you're actually in a bra."

I get most of my musical inspiration from Elton John, Talking Heads, U2, The Who, One Republic, and very randomly, Kelly Clarkson, Rihanna and P!nk. I don't like Taylor Swift nor Justin Bieber, same with One Direction and Katy Perry. I also do a little beatboxing.

Thanks for reading all this, I know it's a bunch. In your answer, would you include information about songs you have written, and how you started?

-Dewey

1 Answer

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    6 years ago
    Favorite Answer

Hello! I am a 17 year old musician and songwriter, and I was in the same place as you when I was 13.

So here is what I recommend:

First, Learn an instrument (not totally required, but VERY helpful). I would recommend Piano. Learning an instrument isn't that hard, and if all you can do is play 8 chords on piano, you can write tons of songs.

Of course, while you are doing this, you can be writing lyrics.

Now, with lyrics, it takes a while to build up your skill (at least it did for me) So I suggest just keep writing them, and really pay attention to lyrics that you like, and try to pick them apart and figure out why you like them so much, and how you can implement that into your own lyrics, and see if actually just reading them without the music helps too. Also, maybe find a poet that you like that fits your style, for me it was Edgar Allan Poe and T.S. Elliot.

Next, broaden your horizons.