First time playing fantasy baseball, never watched the mlb before, advice?

Me and a friend decided we wanted to get into baseball via fantasy baseball. That's how I got into the nfl. After one season I now know a lot more about teams, players and all that. I'm an expert in fantasy basketball. Anyways, I only know of the superstars in the mlb, so after the first round I had no clue who people were. I just used my experience in basketball and football to make a team so here it is:

Round 1: Andrew McCutchen, OF_______Round 14: Billy Butler, DH

Round 2: Joey Votto, 1B _______________Round 15: Daniel Murphy, 2B

Round 3: Jason Kipnis, 2B______________Round 16: Matt Moore, SP

Round 4: Elvis Andrus, SS______________Round 17: Victor Martinez, DH

Round 5: Max Scherzer, SP_____________Round 18: Wilson Ramos, C

Round 6: Josh Donaldson, 3B___________Round 19: Casey Jenssen, RP

Round 7: Allen Craig, 1B________________Round 20: Christian Yelich, OF

Round 8: Carlos Santana, C_____________Round 21: Khris Davis, OF

Round 9: Mike Minor, SP________________Round 22: John Lackey, SP

Round 10: Mat Latos, SP________________Round 23: Nate Jones, RP

Round 11: Desmond Jennings, OF________Round 24: Yovano Gallardo, SP

Round 12: Doug Fister, SP (Autopick on)___Round 25: Eric Young Jr, OF

Round 13: Shane Victorino, SP___________Added Chris Johnson, 3B

Is this a good team? Capable of winning or at least the top 3? Did I draft certain players or positions too early? Any steals? Who should I add to my watch list that may be in the waiver wire now? Any suggestions would help.

1 Answer

Relevance
  • ?
    Lv 6
    7 years ago

Very nice for a first draft! I guess you knew to look for production across multiple categories - you have a lot of solid hitters who are both a power and a speed threat. And you didn't wait til the end to grab pitchers which is good - you snagged some great starters.