?
Lv 5
? asked in TravelCanadaOther - Canada · 6 years ago

Understanding the difference between holding a work permit and permanent residency: Which one is better to pursue?

I'm sure everyone on this website is familiar with my questions, but I will restate. I am an American student in community college who looks forward to attending university within Canada to pursue my eventual goal of becoming a citizen in the future. I have also established that its best for me to pursue education in the field of an "in demand" sector. Therefore, that's what I will do. However, I am still foggy as to what I should do after graduation from university x.

After graduating from a university and return to the states, would it be in my better interest to apply directly to be a permanent residency, or would I be better off to apply for a work permit? As others have told me in the past, the work permit is not really designed to be used for the purpose that I care to use it for. Not to mention, its not possible to look for work within Canada.

Which would be the best option to pursue?

3 Answers

Relevance
  • 6 years ago
    Best Answer

It all depends on far you go (or can afford to go) with your education.

Most foreigners who earn a degree and want to stay in Canada apply to become legal Permanent Residents using the Canadian Experience Class immigration option:

Link - http://www.cic.gc.ca/english/immigrate/cec/

Some, however, apply for a Post-Graduate Work Permit to get work experience if they weren't able to gain any (or enough) while earning their degree.

(i.e.: their university didn't have a co-op program for the subject they studied or the student didn't get a Student Work Permit in order to participate in a co-op program for whatever reasons.)

Details on Post-Grad Work Permits here:

Link - http://www.cic.gc.ca/english/study/work-postgrad.a...

For those who stick around to earn a PhD, there's a third option: Federal Skilled Worker immigration.

Details on that one here: