promotion image of download ymail app
Promoted

I got a 1510 on my SAT. Do I even have a little of a chance to get accepted to an Ivy League..?

First, please please please no rude comments. I am literally crying because I did better on the PSAT... I know it's not a good score 1510, I just wanna crawl into a ball and not even try anymore. It's my first time but I literally have not much time to improve, I'm a junior.

Please, anyone, give me tips on how to improve, I'm already taking a cheap SAT class, I can't afford an expensive one. My twin literally got 200 points more than me and so did all of my friends. I am so sad and I am willing to just practice non stop until the June test. Any help please?...

[I wanted to go to an Ivy League... Of course now its a LONG shot from that. I'm probably gonna settle for a state school but I'm still gonna try really hard to improve my score]

4 Answers

Relevance
  • 
    Lv 7
    6 years ago
    Favorite Answer

Look, even your twin has no chance to go to an Ivy League school. The person, of all the people I know, with the lowest SAT score and got into an Ivy League school was my friend Megan, who got into Princeton with a 2230.

And trust me, your SAT score is the SECOND most important; your GPA is most important, teacher recommendation letters is third and extracurricular activities is fourth (that's what my counselor told me).

And the PSAT is a HORRIBLE indicator of your actual SAT score. For many, their SAT scores are about 200 points lower than their PSAT score.

And it's very hard to improve your score. Just sitting in SAT class and taking notes or something isn't going to anything. You need to IMPLEMENT the advice your instructor tells you. It doesn't matter if it's expensive or cheap - they're all SAT classes to help you.