promotion image of download ymail app
Promoted
Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Arts & HumanitiesTheater & Acting · 6 years ago

What type of personality is needed to be an actor?

First let me give you a little background if myself. I began modeling at 4 and auditioning by 6 I nailed a few commercials and by 8 my parents divorced and I stopped the auditions. Throughout my short lived career I was always very shy instead of the "bubbly" funny kid that everyone loves. I hate this most about myself and to this day as a 14 year old im still very reserved . I'm a freshman and taking a theatre class in school and this has sparked my love for acting again. I was wondering if there's anyway to kind of jumpstart on my career again and if I have a chance. To practice I repeat monologues everyday in the mirror so I am very serious about this. Just not sure how far I will go especially with the shy sensitive personality I have. I look up to actors like Leonardo Dicaprio who's been acting his whole life and I wonder if I can ever have a glimpse of stardom.

4 Answers

Relevance
  • 6 years ago
    Favorite Answer

Just like there are all different types of personalities that become doctors or lawyers, there are all different personality types that become actors. And you can always have acting as part of your life, even if you choose not to pursue it as a professional career.

You can't jump start your "career" mainly because what is expected from a 14-year-old (and older) is VERY different than what is expected from a 4-6 year old. Practicing monologues in a mirror is not the best way to practice acting. Acting involves interacting and reacting with others, so you need to get out an actually act. Take some acting classes. Voice and dance lessons can help too. Audition for what you can - school plays, community theater, church shows, whatever. Some other things you can do: