promotion image of download ymail app
Promoted

Good modern novels or plays with literary merrit?

I need to choose 5 books to research for my English honors class, one will get chosen for me and im not sure which ones sound good. i'm looking for ones at least semi easy to understand and kind of short (no longer than 300~ pages) and maybe modern. Some i have been thinking about are the color purple, the jungle , Gulliver travels. Or if you know any similar to Fahrenheit 451 i loved that book. This is a list my teacher has of books i hope you can access it. https://www.edmodo.com/file/view-crocodoc-new-wind...

Update:

btw im a sophomore in high school so something not too hard! And ive already read the great gatsby, romeo and juliet, things fall apart, antigone and oedipus, a seperate peace, a midsummers night dream, of mice and men and there are other books i cant think of that would be on that list thanks!!!!

1 Answer

Relevance
  • Brenda
    Lv 6
    6 years ago
    Favorite Answer

I'm going to mention titles as I see them on the list, as well as any other titles that come to mind that are age-appropriate.

The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn by Tom Sawyer - 19th c., some satire, some racial issues

*Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier - 20th c., some mystery, questions of identity

*As You Like It by William Shakespeare - 17th c., play, pastoral romance

Billy Budd by Herman Melville - 19th c., non-Transcendentalist, NOT Moby D{ck

*The Chosen by Chaim Potok - 20th c., family/history, powerful story about love

*Persuasion by Jane Austen - 19th c., short romance, best of Austen IMESHO

*Civil Disobedience by Thoreau - 19th c., essay, food for thought

*The Crucible by Arthur Miller - 20th c., play, about the Salem Witch Trials in the 17th c.

Death of a Salesman by Arthur Miller - 20th c., play, modern American heartbreak

Henry IV, 1 or 2, or Henry V by William Shakespeare - 17th c., the making of a king