Anonymous
Anonymous asked in TravelUnited StatesOther - United States · 7 years ago

Would it be crazy to move from USA to Canada?

So I live in the USA and I have been talking to a guy for 3 months now online. He lives in Canada. We are 20 years old and are planning to meet soon in person, just for a visit. I honestly feel like he could be the one though and I would move to Canada to be with him. He is still in school, and I'm not so it would make more sense to move there, plus it's cheaper from where I live right now. I would love to know others opinions on this. Also, we live about 500 miles away from each other right now. It wouldn't be that big of a move but at the same time it would cause of the different countries.

Update:

P.S- I know I would need a visa and everything. I know there is a lot of paper work to deal with also

4 Answers

Relevance
  • bw022
    Lv 7
    7 years ago
    Favorite Answer

Citizenship and Immigration Canada will solve that problem for you.

Americans are free to visit Canada for a maximum of 180 day per year. Visitors are not permitted to attend school, work, or look for work while in Canada nor can they obtain driver's licenses, social insurance numbers, health insurance, open bank accounts, etc. All visits to Canada are at the sole discretion of Canadian Border Services Agency. If they suspect you won't leave, will attempt to work illegally, are unable to pay for the visit, etc. they can limit the length of your stay, deny you entry, or ban you from Canada for a year. For stay longer than a month or so, especially for young people, CBSA may begin requiring proof that you are employed in the US or are enrolled in school, that you have travel medical insurance, that you have sufficient money in the bank to stay in Canada for months without working.