in the state of Texas?
In the state of Texas can you leave home at the age of 17?
- ChetLv 76 years agoFavorite Answer
Under Texas law, the police can not force a 17 year old back home if they move out without parental permission. Here is the Texas Attorney Generals opinion on this (which means more than any ones here):
But there is something you should know. This does not mean that a 17 year old is considered an adult. Nor does it change any other laws. There is a law that makes harboring a runaway illegal.
"A person commits an offense if he knowingly harbors a child and he is criminally negligent about whether the child.... is younger than 18 years; and... is voluntarily absent from the child's home without the consent of the child's parent or guardian for a substantial length of time or without the intent to return."
Even though it is legal for you to move out at 17, it is not legal for someone to allow you to live with them, other than certain family members. Namely the "actor was related to the child within the second degree by consanguinity or affinity".
Brother, sister, grandparent, or grandchild are examples of relatives in the second degree.
- Anonymous4 years ago