I want to join the US Air Force but need some answers before I talk to a recruiter (background check)?

I had a pretty bad juvenile record when I was between the ages 12-17. My probation officer told me not to tell any jobs or the military because I wasnt convicted as an adult. I was underage so they wouldnt be on my record. excluding any charges I got as an adult. (I have none as an adult) im 22 now (23 in Nov. Of 2014) and passed a background check with the FBI/ATF and have purchased guns. (For personal/home defence and recreation). So my question is with all that being said will I pass the background check at MEPS? I want to be honest but i dont want to look like a criminal. If the FBI/ATF didnt see my record will MEPS? I learned my lesson and changed my ways. I graduated high school and Ive graduated from the Aviation Institute of Maintenance and wanna persue a career in the military. Im not stupid I just made bad decisions as a kid and hung around the wrong people. I had no male father figure/ role model growing up. I dont do drugs and recently quit smoking ciggaretts.

7 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    6 years ago
    Favorite Answer

Paul has no idea what hes talking about...just saying

• Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
  • 4 years ago

Source(s): Background Checks Search Database - http://BackgroundChecks.raiwi.com/?gEpM
  • 6 years ago

Your probation office is setting you up to fail! If he/she was advising you to LIE, they should not be in that job!

First let's clear something up. It does NOT matter if you 'did it as a kid' or not. It is NOT gone from your record, it is STILL there. It is NEVER sealed FROM the government - they can always see them. The military WILL see them!