Can TPS students apply for dream act?

I am from El Salvador, I came into the USA in March of the year 2000 with a Visa, later my family applied for TPS (temporary protective status) and we were able to stay. I have my workers permit and social security card. But I am not a US Resident and I am not a US Citizen. I am currently a high school student in Portland Oregon. With a TPS you can not apply to be a resident. And with a TPS there is no Financial Aid, I want to go to a university but I can't get federal funds for education. With the dream act, I would be eligible for financial aid, and possible residency.

I meet all the requirements of the Dream act, but I don't know if I can apply.

My question is:

Can I, a TPS holder apply for the Dream Act and get financial Aid?

8 Answers

Relevance
  • 6 years ago
    Favorite Answer

I suppose, but it wouldn't give you anything you don't already have under TPS.

• Login to reply the answers
  • pk
    Lv 7
    6 years ago

You need to look at the financial aid requirements of the school you want to attend.

You won't be able to get federal funds for college, but there may be state aid and scholarships available to you. Start looking now.

As for TPS vs. DACA, for you it's one and the same. Form I-821. Form I-821D for the DACA kids.

Believe it or not, you are better off staying with TPS.

The reason why I say that is because if you look at the trends, TPS almost always gets renewed every year or two. It has been that way for years and years and likely to continue. The DACA program was the President dipping his foot in the waters to test his immigration reform ideas out on the public and on the economy.

He won't be President for much longer. Yet both sides of the aisle, Democrat and Republican consistently renew TPS for the eligible countries. Only a couple of African countries have lost theirs.