Should I load windows on my macbook pro, or get new laptop?

I have a mid 2009 model macbook pro. Here are some of the specs:

Processor: 2.53 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo

Memory: 8 GB 1067 MHz DDR3

Graphics: NVIDIA GeForce 9400M 256 MB

Software: OS X 10.9 (13A603)

Standard Hard Drive: 320 GB serial ATA (3 gb/s)

I also am considering putting an SSD in.

Basically I have had this laptop for four years (obviously) and I am currently a freshman in college and still using it. This laptop has treated me well, but next semester I will have to use windows programs like Mathcad 3.0 and some others later on. I am a chemical engineering major. I am wondering whether I should load windows 7 (maybe 8) onto this laptop, probably using bootcamp, or If I should just buy a new windows laptop to run the programs on. If I bought a windows laptop I would get a lower end model and probably would be sacrificing some of the functionality my macbook pro has. This being said, I am sure the new laptop would work fine, as I would only be using it for schoolwork.

The recommended requirements for a laptop in my degree are:

Recommended hardware requirements:

Dual-core Intel or AMD processor

4.0 GB of memory (RAM)

320 GB hard drive

CD/DVD drive or burner

Wireless network connection

Recommended operation system:

Windows 7 SP1,

Windows Vista SP2, or

Windows XP SP3

I am just wondering how well a windows OS would run these programs like mathcad on my macbook pro, and if I would run into any trouble? And would a 2009 laptop last me another 3-4 years?

If anyone has any advice that would be great. Which operating system to load on the mac? Or which kind of windows laptop to buy if I should do that?

2 Answers

Relevance
  • 6 years ago
    Best Answer

To play with top level games, you need top level graphics. Why not buy a computer that can do it? From Apple, that would be a MacBook Pro 15-inch or a recent iMac or a Mac Pro.