Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Society & CultureReligion & Spirituality · 6 years ago

What's the "trinity"?

I'm an agnostic doctor.

I was an atheist, but I've loosened up over the years.

I have a daughter named Trinity, and she has leukemia. I had another question related to her, but it was under my original account, which I cannot access, so with this new one I will add details and questions through an answer.

People (in my very religious community) always tell me I should be a Christian. When I ask why, they say it's because I named my daughter Trinity and that was a symbol that God is calling me.

Every time someone says that, I just get more and more confused. I just named her that because I thought it was a pretty name.

Can someone please tell me what heck the "trinity" is?

15 Answers

Relevance
  • 6 years ago
    Favorite Answer

Ignore people who "see" something religiously symbolic in what you named your daughter. It is a pretty name.

The "Trinity" is a teaching that was first introduced into Christianity as a result of the formulation of the Nicene Creed, first proposed at the council of Nicaea in 325. There are several versions, but the most common is that there are three persons in one God. People often confuse it with the New Testament teaching of the Godhead, which says that heaven is ruled by three persons -- God, the Eternal Father; his son, Jesus Christ; and the Holy Ghost. They are one in purpose and follow the singular will of the Father, who has bestowed his authority on the other two members of the Godhead (Jesus Christ and the Holy Ghost) through "divine investiture", which allows them to act for and in behalf of the Father in their missions. In that regard, they are, for all intents and purposes, God.

Regardless, the Trinity was not part of the original Christian religion.